NORTH CAROLINA **SYMPHONY**

CONCERT IN YOUR COMMUNITY



Beethoven Symphony No. 5

FRIDAY, JUNE 20, 2025 | 7:30PM

SOUTHERN VILLAGE GREEN, CHAPEL HILL

North Carolina Symphony Sophie Mok, conductor

CONCERT PARTNER



CONCERT SPONSORS





The North Carolina Symphony gratefully acknowledges financial support from the State of North Carolina.



Thank you also to the generous individuals, businesses, foundations, and community partners who support the North Carolina Symphony through contributions each season.

PROGRAM

Louise Farrenc (1804-1875) Overture No. 2, Op. 24

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893) *Romeo & Juliet Fantasy Overture*

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67

- I. Allegro con brio
- II. Andante con moto
- III. Scherzo. Allegro Trio
- IV. Allegro



Sophie Mok, Assistant Conductor The Lucy Moore Ruffin Chair

In 2024, Sophie Sze-Ki Mok began her tenure as Assistant Conductor of the North Carolina Symphony. She has also served since 2023 as Assistant Conductor of the Asian Youth

Orchestra, where she has worked alongside Joseph Bastian and Jader Bignamini. She has assisted esteemed conductors including Marin Alsop, Jonathon Heyward, Thomas Wilkins, and Tan Dun. Upcoming engagements include serving as cover conductor for the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. Previously, she was a Conducting Fellow with the Miami Symphony Orchestra and Assistant Conductor of the Frost Symphony Orchestra at the University of Miami's Frost School of Music.

Mok was selected to compete in the La Maestra Conducting Competition in 2024 and was one of several finalists to compete in Riccardo Muti's Italian Opera Academy in 2022. In 2019, she won second prize at the International Conductor's Competition held during the Deutsches Musikfest. For six

years, she served as the conductor of the Hong Kong Youth Wind Philharmonia, mentoring young musicians from elementary school through college.

Born in Hong Kong, Mok began her musical journey as an oboist. She received her bachelor's degree in oboe performance from Hong Kong Baptist University and later furthered her studies at the University of Colorado at Boulder, where she earned a master's degree. As a conductor, she holds a master's degree in orchestral conducting from the College-Conservatory of Music (CCM), and an Artist Diploma in conducting from the University of Miami Frost School of Music under the tutelage of Gerard Schwarz.



Support artistic excellence, statewide service, and music education in Orange County with a gift to the Annual Fund. Every gift makes a difference and counts toward the 2024/25 State Challenge Grant.

Please visit ncsymphony.org/donate, scan this QR code with your mobile device, or call 919.733.2750

Thank you!

The Musicians of the North Carolina Symphony

Carlos Miguel Prieto, Music Director

The Maxine and Benjamin Swalin Chair

Grant Llewellyn, Music Director Laureate

Sophie Sze-Ki Mok, Assistant Conductor The Lucy Moore Ruffin Chair

Violin I

To Be Filled, Concertmaster
The Annabelle Lundy Fetterman
Chair

To Be Filled, Associate Concertmaster The Assad Meymandi and Family Chair

Anna Black, Assistant Concertmaster The Anne Heartt Gregory Chair

Karen Strittmatter Galvin, Assistant Concertmaster

Emily Rist Glover

The Jessie Wyatt Ethridge Chair
Paul Goldsberry

The Richard and Joy Cook Chair

Seula Lee The Governor James B. Hunt, Jr. Chair

Joseph Meyer*

Maria Meyer The Tom and Mary Mac Bradshaw Chair

Minjoo Moon* The Harvey At-Large Chair

Pablo Sánchez Pazos The Phyllis ("Pat") Conrad Wells Chair

Jessica Ryou The James C. Byrd and Family Chair

Erin Zehngut
The J. Felix Arnold Chair

Violin II

Jacqueline Saed Wolborsky, Principal

The Nancy Finch Wallace Chair

Tiffany Kang, Associate Principal *The Blanche Martin Shaw Chair*

David Kilbride, Assistant Principal

Qi Cao

Janet Gayer Hall

Chris Jusell

Oskar Ozolinch

Subin Shin

Jeanine Wynton

Viola

Samuel Gold, Principal The Florence Spinks and Charles Jacob Cate and Alma Yondorf and Sylvan Hirschberg Chair

Kurt Tseng, Associate Principal The Betty Ellen Madry Chair

Brian Sherwood, Assistant Principal

Petra Berényi

Paul Malcolm

Amy Mason

The J. Sidney Kirk Chair

Daniel Moore

Sandra Schwarcz

The Samuel H. and Anne Latham Johnson Chair

Cello

Bonnie Thron, Principal The June and Tom Roberg Chair

Elizabeth Beilman, Associate Principal

The Sarah Carlyle Herbert Dorroh Chair

Peng Li, Assistant Principal Anonymously Endowed

Yewon Ahn**

Anonymously Endowed

David Meyer

The Nell Hirschberg Chair

Marc Moskovitz*

The William Charles Rankin Chair

Samuel Sykes*

Nathaniel Yaffe

The Secretary of Cultural Resources Betty Ray McCain Chair

To Be Filled

The Sara Wilson Hodgkins Chair

Double Bass

Leonid Finkelshteyn, Principal The Martha and Peyton Woodson Chair

Joshua DePoint, Associate Principal The Dr. and Mrs. Preston H. Gada Chair

Bruce Ridge

The John C. and Margaret P. Parker Chair

To Be Filled

The Harllee H. and Pauline G. Jobe Chair

To Be Filled

The Mark W. McClure Foundation Chair

Flute

Megan Torti, Principal The Mr. and Mrs. George M. Stephens Chair

Mary E. Boone, Assistant Principal The Dr. and Mrs. Shaler Stidham, Jr. Chair

Alexandra Stokes*
The Jack and Sing Boddie Chair

Piccolo

Alexandra Stokes*
The Jean Dunn Williams Chair

Oboe

Melanie Wilsden, Principal The Hardison and Stoltze Chair

Joseph Peters, Associate Principal The Lizette T. Dunham Chair

To Be Filled
The Clarence and Alice Aycock Poe
Chair

English Horn

Joseph Peters
The Bruce and Margaret King Chair

Clarinet

Samuel Almaguer, Principal The Mr. and Mrs. J. Christopher Walker, II Chair

Sammy Lesnick, Assistant Principal The Kathryn Powell and Green Flavie Cooper Chair

Bassoon

Aaron Apaza, Principal The Mr. and Mrs. Fitzgerald S. Hudson Chair

Wenmin Zhang, Assistant Principal, The Beethoven Chair

French Horn

Rebekah Daley, Principal The Mary T. McCurdy Chair

Kimberly Van Pelt, Associate Principal The Paul R. Villard and Gabriel Wolf Chair

Gabriel Mairson
The James Marion Poyner Chair

Russell Rybicki The Roger Colson and Bobbi Lyon Hackett Chair

To Be Filled
The Mary Susan Kirk Fulghum Chair

Trumpet

Paul Randall, Principal
The George Smedes Poyner Chair

Benjamin Hauser, Associate Principal The Henry and Martha Zaytoun and Family Chair

Trombone

John Ilika, Principal The Thomas Warwick Steed, Jr. Family Chair

Steven Osborne*, Assistant Principal The Frances Armour Bryant Chair

Bass Trombone

Matthew Neff Anonymously Endowed

Tuba

Seth Horner, Principal
The Governor and Mrs. James G.
Martin, Jr. Chair

Timpani

Colin Hartnett, Principal The Patricia R., Steven T. and George F. Hackney III Chair

Percussion

Richard Motylinski, Principal The Margery and Earl Johnson, Jr. Chair

Rajesh Prasad, Assistant Principal The Abram and Frances Pascher Kanof Chair

Organ

To Be Filled The Albert and Susan Jenkins and Family Organ Chair

Library

Stephanie Wilson, Principal Orchestra Librarian The Mary Colvert and Banks C. Talley Chair

Taylor Troyer, Assistant Orchestra Librarian

*Acting position

**Leave of absence

Named musician chairs are made possible through very meaningful gifts to the Symphony's endowment. As such, these donor families are also members of the Lamar Stringfield Society.

All string players rotate stands on a periodic basis in each section with the exception of titled players: Principals, Associate Principals, and Assistant Principals.

The North Carolina Symphony is a member of the League of American Orchestras and the International Conference of Symphony and Opera Musicians.

The North Carolina Master Chorale is the Resident Chorus of the North Carolina Symphony.

The North Carolina Symphony Foundation gratefully acknowledges the generous gift of the Lupot violin from Arnold and Zena† Lerman. †deceased