# NORTH CAROLINA SYMPHONY

# Mozart Jupiter Symphony

TUE, APR 22, 2025 | 7:30PM
RIVERFRONT CONVENTION CENTER, NEW BERN

North Carolina Symphony Sophie Mok, conductor

#### **PROGRAM**

Aaron Copland
Fanfare for the Common Man

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony No. 41 in C, K. 551, "Jupiter"

- I. Allegro vivace
- II. Andante cantabile
- III. Allegretto
- IV. Molto allegro

## **INTERMISSION**

Various composers / Arr. Ted Ricketts Satchmo! A Tribute to Louis Armstrong

Richard Hayman "Pops" Hoe-Down

Gerónimo Giménez Intermedio from *La boda de Luis Alonso* 

Dámaso Pérez Prado Qué rico mambo

James P. Johnson Victory Stride



## **About the Artists**



Sophie Mok, Assistant Conductor The Lucy Moore Ruffin Chair

In November, 2024, Sophie Sze-Ki Mok began her tenure as Assistant Conductor of the North Carolina Symphony. She served as the Assistant Conductor of the Asian Youth Orchestra for 2023 and 2024, where she assisted conductors Joseph Bastian and Jader Bignamini. Her recent engagements include serving as the cover conductor for five programs with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra working with conductors including Marin Alsop, Jonathon Heyward, Thomas Wilkins, and Tan Dun. Previously, she was the Conducting Fellow of the Miami Symphony Orchestra as well as an Assistant Conductor of the Frost Symphony Orchestra at the University of Miami Frost School of Music.

Mok was selected to compete in the La Maestra Conducting Competition in 2024 and was one of several finalists to compete in Riccardo Muti's Italian Opera Academy in 2022. In 2019, she won second prize at the International Conductor's Competition held during the Deutsches Musikfest. For six years, she served as the conductor of the Hong Kong Youth Wind Philharmonia, mentoring young musicians from elementary school through college.

Born in Hong Kong, Mok began her musical journey as an oboist. She received her bachelor's degree in oboe performance from Hong Kong Baptist University and later furthered her studies at the University of Colorado at Boulder, where she earned a master's degree. As a conductor, she holds a master's degree in orchestral conducting from the College-Conservatory of Music (CCM), and an Artist Diploma in conducting from the University of Miami Frost School of Music under the tutelage of Gerard Schwarz.

## The Musicians of the North Carolina Symphony

# Carlos Miguel Prieto, Music Director The Maxine and Benjamin Swalin Chair

Grant Llewellyn, Music Director Laureate

Sophie Sze-Ki Mok, Assistant Conductor The Lucy Moore Ruffin Chair

#### Violin

To Be Filled, Concertmaster The Annabelle Lundy Fetterman Chair

To Be Filled, Associate Concertmaster The Assad Meymandi and Family Chair

Anna Black, Assistant Concertmaster The Anne Heartt Gregory Chair

Karen Strittmatter Galvin, Assistant Concertmaster

Emily Rist Glover The Jessie Wyatt Ethridge Chair

Paul Goldsberry The Richard and Joy Cook Chair

Seula Lee

The Governor James B. Hunt, Jr. Chair Joseph Meyer\*

Maria Meyer

The Tom and Mary Mac Bradshaw Chair

Minjoo Moon\* The Harvey At-Large Chair

Pablo Sánchez Pazos The Phyllis ("Pat") Conrad Wells Chair

Jessica Ryou The James C. Byrd and Family Chair

Erin Zehngut The J. Felix Arnold Chair

The North Carolina Symphony Foundation gratefully acknowledges the generous gift of the Lupot violin from Arnold and Zena† Lerman.

\*\*tdecensed\*\*

## Violin II

Jacqueline Saed Wolborsky, Principal The Nancy Finch Wallace Chair

Tiffany Kang, Associate Principal The Blanche Martin Shaw Chair

David Kilbride, Assistant Principal

Qi Cao

Janet Gayer Hall

Chris Jusell

Oskar Ozolinch

Subin Shin

Jeanine Wynton

## Viola

Samuel Gold, Principal The Florence Spinks and Charles Jacob Cate and Alma Yondorf and Sylvan Hirschberg Chair

Kurt Tseng, Associate Principal The Betty Ellen Madry Chair

Brian Sherwood, Assistant Principal

Petra Berényi

Paul Malcolm

Amy Mason The J. Sidney Kirk Chair

Daniel Moore

Sandra Schwarcz The Samuel H. and Anne Latham Johnson Chair

#### Cello

Bonnie Thron, Principal The June and Tom Roberg Chair

Elizabeth Beilman, Associate Principal The Sarah Carlyle Herbert Dorroh Chair

Peng Li, Assistant Principal, Anonymously Endowed

Yewon Ahn\*\*
Anonymously Endowed

David Meyer The Nell Hirschberg Chair Marc Moskovitz\* The William Charles Rankin Chair

Lisa Howard Shaughnessy The Sara Wilson Hodgkins Chair

Samuel Sykes\*

Nathaniel Yaffe The Secretary of Cultural Resources Betty Ray McCain Chair

#### **Double Bass**

Leonid Finkelshteyn, Principal The Martha and Peyton Woodson Chair

Joshua DePoint, Associate Principal The Dr. and Mrs. Preston H. Gada Chair

Craig Brown The Mark W. McClure Foundation Chair

Erik Dyke The Harllee H. and Pauline G. Jobe Chair

Bruce Ridge The John C. and Margaret P. Parker Chair

#### Flute

Megan Torti, Principal The Mr. and Mrs. George M. Stephens Chair

Mary E. Boone, Assistant Principal The Dr. and Mrs. Shaler Stidham, Jr. Chair

Alexandra Stokes\*
The Jack and Sing Boddie Chair

## **Piccolo**

Alexandra Stokes\*
The Jean Dunn Williams Chair

## Oboe

Melanie Wilsden, Principal The Hardison and Stoltze Chair

Joseph Peters, Associate Principal, The Lizette T. Dunham Chair

To Be Filled
The Clarence and Alice Aycock
Poe Chair

## **English Horn**

Joseph Peters The Bruce and Margaret King Chair

#### Clarinet

Samuel Almaguer, Principal The Mr. and Mrs. J. Christopher Walker. II Chair

Sammy Lesnick, Assistant Principal The Kathryn Powell and Green Flavie Cooper Chair

#### **Bassoon**

Aaron Apaza, Principal The Mr. and Mrs. Fitzgerald S. Hudson Chair

Wenmin Zhang, Assistant Principal, The Beethoven Chair

#### French Horn

Rebekah Daley, Principal The Mary T. McCurdy Chair

Kimberly Van Pelt, Associate Principal The Paul R. Villard and Gabriel Wolf Chair

Gabriel Mairson The James Marion Poyner Chair

Russell Rybicki The Roger Colson and Bobbi Lyon Hackett Chair

To Be Filled The Mary Susan Kirk Fulghum Chair

## Trumpet

Paul Randall, Principal The George Smedes Poyner Chair

Ben Hauser, Associate Principal The Henry and Martha Zaytoun and Family Chair

#### **Trombone**

John Ilika, Principal The Thomas Warwick Steed, Jr. Family Chair

Steven Osborne\*, Assistant Principal The Frances Armour Bryant Chair

## **Bass Trombone**

Matthew Neff Anonymously Endowed

#### Tuba

Seth Horner, Principal The Governor and Mrs. James G. Martin, Jr. Chair

## Timpani

Colin Hartnett, Principal The Patricia R., Steven T. and George F. Hackney III Chair

## **Percussion**

Richard Motylinski, Principal The Margery and Earl Johnson, Ir Chair

Rajesh Prasad, Assistant Principal The Abram and Frances Pascher Kanof Chair

#### Organ

To Be Filled The Albert and Susan Jenkins and Family Organ Chair

#### Library

Stephanie Wilson, Principal Orchestra Librarian The Mary Colvert and Banks C. Tallev Chair

Taylor Troyer, Assistant Orchestra Librarian

\*Acting position \*\*Leave of absence Named musician chairs are made possible through very meaningful gifts to the Symphony's endowment. As such, these donor families are also members of the Lamar Stringfield Society.

All string players rotate stands on a periodic basis in each section with the exception of titled players: Principals, Associate Principals, and Assistant Principals.

The North Carolina Symphony is a member of the League of American Orchestras and the International Conference of Symphony and Opera Musicians.

The North Carolina Master Chorale is the Resident Chorus of the North Carolina Symphony.

Thank you to the generous individuals, businesses, foundations, and community partners who support the North Carolina Symphony each year.

The North Carolina Symphony gratefully acknowledges financial support from the State of North Carolina.



